Research Team

header image

This study is a partnership among researchers at University of British Columbia, University of Northern British Columbia, Université de Montréal and Dalhousie University, Western University, staff from three emergency departments in British Columbia, and leaders from Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities.

At each level (the overall study, at each site and at each ED), we use a tripartite leadership model, engaging ED leadership and staff with Indigenous and community leadership and researchers.

The study is led by Colleen Varcoe, Annette Browne, Vicky Bungay, David Byres, Elder Roberta Price, and Erin Wilson.

 


Surrey Memorial Hospital Emergency Department entrance
St. Paul's Hospital Emergency Department entrance
University Hospital of Northern BC Spirit of the North Healthcare Foundation artwork

Research Team

Dr. Colleen Varcoe

RN, PhD

Professor
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

Profile

colleen.varcoe@ubc.ca

Dr. Annette J. Browne

PhD, RN

Professor and Distinguished University Scholar
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

Profile

Annette.browne@ubc.ca

Dr. Amélie Blanchet Garneau

PhD, RN

Assistant Professor
Faculty of Nursing
Université de Montréal
Chair
Indigenous Research Chairs in Nursing – Quebec

Profile

amelie.blanchet.garneau@umontreal.ca

Dr. Vicky Bungay

PhD, RN

Professor
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

Profile

vicky.bungay@ubc.ca

Dr. David Byres

RN, DNP, CHE

Associate Deputy Minister
B.C. Ministry of Health

Profile

david.byres@gov.bc.ca

Elder Roberta Price

Elder
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

Profile

priceroberta@yahoo.ca

Dr. Nadine Wathen

PhD

Professor
Faculty of Information & Media Studies
University of Western Ontario

Profile

nwathen@uwo.ca

Dr. Erin Wilson

PhD, NP(F)

Assistant Professor
School of Nursing
University of Northern British Columbia

Profile

erin.wilson@unbc.ca

Aggie Black

MPH, BSN

Director
Health Services & Clinical Research and Knowledge Translation
Providence Health Care

Profile

ablack@providencehealth.bc.ca

Dr. Scott Comber

PhD

University Teaching Fellow
Rowe School of Business
Dalhousie University

Profile

scott.comber@dal.ca

Dr. Alison Gerlach

PhD

Assistant Professor
School of Child and Youth Care
University of Victoria

Profile

alisongerlach@uvic.ca

Dr. Leanne Heppell

DBA, RN, MSN, MALT

Chief Operating Officer Acute Care
Chief of Professional Practice and Nursing
Providence Healthcare

Profile

lheppell@providencehealth.bc.ca

Dr. Nancy Perrin

PhD

Professor
School of Nursing
Johns Hopkins University

Profile

nperrin@jhu.edu

Dr. Victoria Smye

RN, PhD

Associate Professor & Director
Arthur Labatt Family School of Nursing
Western University

Profile

vsmye@uwo.ca

Leslie Bonshor

Executive Director
Aboriginal Health
Vancouver Coastal Health

Leslie.Bonshor@vch.ca

Lucille Duncan

Elder
Central Interior Native Health Society

lucy.duncan@cinhs.org

Dr. Jeff Reading

PhD

Professor
Faculty of Health Sciences
Simon Fraser University
First Nations Health Authority Chair
Heart Health and Wellness at St. Paul’s Hospital
Member of the Board of Directors for Genome BC

Profile

jeffrey_reading@sfu.ca

Melanie Rivers

Tiyaltelwet, MPH

Curriculum Development Manager
Center for Excellence in Indigenous Health
School of Population and Public Health
University of British Columbia

melanie.rivers@ubc.ca

Dr. Janet Smylie

MD, MPH, FCFP

Professor
University of Toronto
Physician & Director
Well Living House
Centre for Urban Health Solutions

Profile

janet.smylie@utoronto.ca

Leslie Varley

Executive Director
BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres

lvarley@bcaafc.com

Cheryl Ward

MSW, RSW, EdD

Executive Director
Indigenous Health
Provincial Health Services Authority

cward-02@phsa.ca

Dr. Kathleen Cunniffe

MD

Physician
Emergency Medicine
University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
Northern Health

Profile

cunniffek@gmail.com

Cindy Elliott

RN, MSN

Program Director
Emergency & Access Services
Providence Health Care

celliott@providencehealth.bc.ca

Neil Fowler

Team Leader
Indigenous Health and Wellness Program
St. Paul’s Hospital
Providence Health Care

NFowler@providencehealth.bc.ca

Olive Godwin

Executive Director
Prince George Division of Family Practice

ogodwin@divisionsbc.ca

Scott Harrison

RN, BScN, MA, CCHN(C)

Director
Urban Health & Integrated Substance Use and Addiction Program
Providence Health Care
Adjunct Professor of Nursing
University of British Columbia

SHarrison@providencehealth.bc.ca

Christine Mackie

RN, MA

Director of Operations, SMH
Pediatric & Adult Emergency
Forensic Nursing Services
Quality Improvement
Fraser Health

christine.mackie@fraserhealth.ca

Dr. Patrick Rowe

MD

Physician of Emergency Medicine
Medical Lead- NHA, Emergency Medicine, Trauma, and Transfer Services
University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
Northern Health

patrick.rowe@northernhealth.ca

Rita Sweeney

Clinical Nurse Manager
Emergency
University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
Northern Health

Rita.Sweeney@northernhealth.ca

Laura Wessman

B.Sc., B.ASc., MBA, M.Sc.

Health Service Administrator
Prince George
Northern Health

laura.wessman@northernhealth.ca

Lesley Young

RN

Clinical Nurse Educator
Emergency Department
Surrey Memorial Hospital
Fraser Health

Phoebe Long

MPH

Research Manager
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

phoebe.long@ubc.ca

Cheyanne Stones

MPH

Research Coordinator
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

cheyanne.stones@ubc.ca

Patrice Wright

RN, BScN

Site Coordinator- Surrey Memorial Hospital
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

pwright@mail.ubc.ca

Sunny Jiao

BScN, MHA, RN

Site Coordinator- St. Paul’s Hospital
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

sunny.jiao@ubc.ca

Allie Slemon

MSN, RN

Site Coordinator- St. Paul’s Hospital (on leave)
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

allie.slemon@ubc.ca

Shayna Dolan

MSc

Site Coordinator- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
School of Nursing
University of British Columbia

sdolan01@mail.ubc.ca